By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

Isle of Man Government

IoM Crest

The Isle of Man Government Agencies consist of Departments and Divisions, Statutory Boards and Offices. There are also many working partiies and Commissions working to meet the needs of both business and local communities by creating effective new legislation, cutting red tape and reducing bureaucracy.

There are eight Government Departments, each of which is a separate legal entity with its own functions, powers and responsibilities. View a PDF of the Eight Government Departments and the Cabinet Office details.

Environment, Food and Agriculture

The Department of Environment, Food and Agriculture works to protect and enhance the Island’s natural assets within the core principles of environmental, economic and social sustainability; whilst optimising quality of life, international reputation, food production energy security and outdoor amenity.

DEFA works in partnership with all sectors of the Manx Community to protect and enhance the essentials of life – food, air, land and water and to minimise the impact of work activities and food borne and infectious disease on the people who live, work and visit our Island. It has policy responsibility for animal health and welfare, environmental protection, food, farming and fisheries.

Find out more about DEFA’s functions here.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.