By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

The Federal Polytechnic Ado-Ekiti

The logo is a purple badge with a book, spanners and a factory on it.

The Federal Polytechnic, Ado – Ekiti is one of the second generation Polytechnics and it was first founded as a College of Technology in Jos, Plateau State in January, 1977 and later that year moved to Akure, Ondo State by the then Federal Military Government. The Federal College of Technology, Akure was later converted into a full fledged Polytechnic by decree No. 33 of July 1979. By 1982, the Federal Government founded the Federal University of Technology at its site in Akure and thus relocated the Polytechnic to Ado – Ekiti. The relocation process which began in earnest from 1983 was completed in 1986.

Over the years, the Institution has grown from seven Academic Departments with a pioneer student enrolment of 350 (Full-Time National Diploma) and 95 Academic Staff in 1978. It has now over 10,000 (Full-Time and Part-Time, National Diploma, Higher National Diploma, Certificate, Professional and Extra-Mural) students with a total staff strength of about 2,000, made up of Teaching, Non-Teaching, Technical/Technologists and Junior Cadre Staff, with 29 Academic Departments in the present four-Schools structure.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.