By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

Auckland Council

The Auckland Council is the local government council for the Auckland Region in New Zealand. The governing body consists of a mayor and 20 councillors, elected from 13 wards. There are also 149 members of 21 local boards who make decisions on matters local to their communities. It is the largest council in Australasia, with approximately 8,000 staff. The council began operating on 1 November 2010, combining the functions of the previous regional council and the region’s seven city and district councils into one “super council” or “super city”.

The Auckland Council model of local government helps meet both regional and local needs, and gives Auckland the resources it needs to grow and develop. This includes the planning and management of natural hazards (including climate change), development and management of civil services such as the water sector, improving education for sustainable living, etc.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.