By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

Université du Burundi

Uni Brundi logo

The University of Burundi (French: Université du Burundi, or UB) is a public university located in Bujumbura, Burundi. Founded in 1964, it comprises eight faculties and five institutes and has a student enrollment of approximately 13,000. It is based in three campuses in Bujumbura and a fourth in Gitega. It took its current name in 1977 and is Burundi’s only publicly funded university.

The university is divided into faculties and institutes which are themselves made up of departments. The university currently comprises:


  • Faculty of Agronomy and Bioengineering (Faculté d’Agronomie et de Bio-Ingénieurie)
  • Faculty of Law (Faculté de Droit)
  • Faculty of Medicine (Faculté de la Médecine)
  • Faculty of Psychology and Educational Science (Faculté de Psychologie et des Sciences de l’Education)
  • Faculty of Economic Sciences and Management (Faculté des Sciences Economiques et de Gestion)
  • Faculty of Letters and Human Sciences (Faculté des Lettres et Sciences Humaine)
  • Faculty of Sciences (Faculté des Sciences)
  • Faculty of Engineering Sciences (Faculté des Sciences de l’Ingénieur)


  • Confucius Institute for Chinese language (Institut Confucius), affiliated to the international Confucius Institute programme
  • Institute of Applied Pedagogy (Institut de Pédagogie appliquée)
  • Institute of Physical Education and Sport (Institut d’Education physique et de Sport)
  • Institute of Applied Statistics (Institut des Statistiques appliquées)
  • Higher Institute of Commerce (Institut supérieur de Commerce)

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.