By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.
Discussion

SEI Webinar: New Integrated Climate and Development Planning Tools

Dear colleagues,

You are invited to a webinar organized by Stockholm Environment Institute on integrated climate and development planning, which will take place during the week of October 23, 2023.Thewebinar will focus ona series of new SEI toolsdesigned to supportintegrated planning forclimate change mitigation and sustainable development.

Integrated planning is essential to achievingthe urgent progress needed on climate and sustainable development, yet easily accessible planning tools allowing the comparison of different policy options quantitatively are missing.Recognizing the interconnectedness of climate change and sustainable development, teams at SEI have beenhard at work developing tools that can support long-term integrated climate and development planningusing the Low Emissions Analysis Platform(LEAP).The new tools can assess economic feedback effects, air quality impacts and land use change implications of climate mitigationpolicies, and be used by planners and policy makers toidentify policies that maximize synergies between climate mitigation, climate adaption and development.

Twoinstances of thewebinar are planned to accommodatedifferent regions:

  • October 24, 7am EST/ 1pm GMT+1 / 2pm Nairobi/ 6pm Bangkok [register here]

  • October 26, 12am EST/ 6am GMT+1 / 7am Nairobi/ 11am Bangkok [register here]

Thewebinar is intended for LEAP users, planners, and policy makers. Please share this invitation widely in your networks.

Agenda

10 min

Introduction to benefits of integrated climate and development planning

Charlotte Wagner, SEI Scientist

30 min

Overview of the new toolset:

  • LEAP-Macro: a new plug-in for LEAP for national scale macroeconomic modeling and integrated energy-economy analyses

  • FOLU: a tool for assessing climate mitigation benefits from forestry, and other land use and land use change

  • AgHealth: a tool for assessing health, climate, air pollution, and environmental impacts of food production in LEAP models

  • SEI Africa model: a regional energy system and climate mitigation model for Africa  

Charlotte Wagner, SEI Scientist

20 min

Q&A and open discussion with SEI experts and tool developers)

  • Eric Kemp-Benedict,Equitable Transitions ProgramDirector and LEAP-Macro developer

  • Chris Malley, Senior Scientist and FOLU andAgHealthdeveloper

  • Charlie Heaps, Energy Modeling ProgramDirector and LEAP developer

We look forward to your participation.

The SEI LEAP team

We aim to post all comments and forum posts, but will not post anything that we consider unrelated  to the topic under discussion. Your comment will be reviewed before publishing.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.