By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

Bahir Dar University

Bahir Dar University is among the largest universities in the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, with more than 53,343 students in its 70 undergraduate and 93 masters (second degree) and 15 PhD programs. Bahir Dar University has four colleges, four institutes, three faculties and one school.

The academic units of the University include College of Science, College of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, College of Medical and Health Sciences, College of Business and Economics, Bahir Dar Institute of Technology, Ethiopia Institute of Textile, Garment and Fashion Design, Institute of Land Administration, Institute of Disaster Risk Management and Food Security Studies, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Education and Behavioral Sciences, School of Law, Sport academy and Maritime academy.

The research centers of the university are Blue Nile water Institute, Biotechnology research Institute, Pedagogy and Education research Institute, Energy research Institute, Textile, garment and fashion design, Abay culture and development research center, Geospatial data and technology center, Institute of Economics research and Demographic surveillance


The vision of Bahir Dar University is to become one of the ten premier research universities in Africa by 2025.


The mission of Bahir Dar University is to contribute substantially to the nation and beyond through high quality education, research and community services.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.