By switching to dark mode you can reduce the energy consumption of our digital service.

The Alpine Convention

The Alps are a fascinating and spectacular mountain range spanning eight countries: Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Slovenia, and Switzerland. The challenges faced by the Alps are often cross-border in nature, and can be solved best through cooperation. Recognising this, the eight Alpine countries, together with the European Union, formed the Alpine Convention to address these challenges together.

The Alpine Convention is leading the way for sustainable life in the Alps and is a pioneer of its kind as the first international treaty aimed at the sustainable development and protection of an entire mountain range. The year 2021 marked the 30th anniversary since the Convention was first signed, laying down the international commitment to protect the Alpine region.

The Alpine Convention is addressing climate change mitigation and adaptation as an integrated, transversal topic. There are solutions to climate change that can contribute to a sustainable future and high quality of life in the Alps.

Add your project

Exchange your climate change adaptation projects and lessons learned with the global community.